Some shrimps and a sudden need to eat vegetables – quiche ideas

I really like vegetables. Tomatoes, potatoes, asparagus, eggplants…

Lately I like spinach too. I remember I hated it when I was a child, even though Popeye sang its praises.

Today I went to teach an Italian lesson as always, and one of my students who has a vegetable plot gave me about half a kilo of spinach.
I’ve already cooked them with butter. Half was served for dinner, as today I really needed vegetables for dinner, the other half is stored in my fridge, maybe waiting for a little quiche…

I love spinach and shrimps, or spinach and salmon in quiche. It’s rather tasty.
The quiche is simple to make.
For the base (shortcrust pastry): 100 g. butter, 200 g. flour + water (about 60-70 ml)
Put the butter straight out of the fridge and the flour in a mixer, and mix it at full speed until it looks like sand.
Take it out of the mixer, add a little bit of water and knead it. If it’s too dry, add more water, little by little.
It shouldn’t become sticky and should be a little elastic.
Wrap the dough in clingfilm and let it rest in the fridge for 30-40 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180°C.
Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough.
Take a round baking tin (if possible one with a detachable base) and put the dough inside.
Tipple the dough with a fork. Put some dry beans inside to prevent the dough from rising.
Bake it for 20 minutes. It shouldn’t cook completely, this is only to make it set.

After that, you can put just about anything inside. I suggest cheese, vegetables and fish/bacon/ham. It is better to keep it simple, using a single kind of cheese, one or two vegetables, and fish/bacon/ham.
Put the ingredients inside the quiche pastry.

To cook a good quiche, now you just need a good appareil:
1 egg, 50ml of cream, 50ml of milk, 25gr of grated cheese and a pinch of salt.
Mix the ingredients in a bowl and pour the appareil over the quiche to fill the spaces.
(make more if your baking tin is big.)

Bake again at 180°C for 40 minutes.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in quiche and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

